I’ve had a hard day. And it followed a hard night. Phobic issues led to very disturbed sleep which left me already jittery and anxious to face what turned out to be a very stressful work day. Preparation for tea was delayed by having to drive through awful weather to collect the dog from the vet and my son from his Granny after work. All with a stotting headache. These are the days I inevitably order a takeaway. 

But I remind myself I need to break the habit of stress leading to food. And I already had the one take-away a month I’m allowing myself while being healthier, actually just this week. 

Then I tell myself there’s hardly any food in as I need to go shopping, and what harm would one extra takeaway do? After all it would prevent me feeling stressed. Reducing stress is healthy, right?

Then I take myself to the kitchen where we have one onion, one pepper, the tail end of a bag of rice and some leftover chicken. Add some frozen veg, garlic, ginger and about the amount of time it would take me to walk to and from the nearest Chinese takeaway and…

Enough to feed myself, two hungry teenagers and save a portion for tomorrows lunch. And I get to bask in the virtuous glow of not having given in to temptation. 

I can do this. 

3 thoughts on “Tanking the Takeaway #NewcastleCAN

Leave a Reply

